DMV x John Mayer??

Under the needle

Guilty pleasure? Maybe some of Mayer’s tracks, I’ll admit. But DMV spitter R.E.U.B. decides to drop a couple bars over Mayer’s “Waiting on the World to Change” and I’ll be damned if I’m not a fan of it.

I woke up at the crack of dawn and sat at my workstation and wrote the whole thing to air (no beat). It was just me and my thoughts. In the wake of this writing bonanza, I knew that I had to record a.s.a.p. if I was going to keep the true feeling in the record; thus started a dizzying search for instrumentals. Thankfully, I had already looped the instrumental to “Waiting on the World to Change” and when I put it on the words and vibe were a perfect match. I had previously decided not to spit over that beat, mainly because I consider the original a classic and I strongly believe that some things need to be left alone: crack, wolverines, e-commerce seminars, classics, etc.

On another note, the lyrics to this song created a lot of light hearted grief because of the important people in my life that weren’t mentioned. In their defense, I did a poor job of talking about some of the more key people in my life; and I certainly didn’t speak in any relative order. In my defense: THAT WASN’T THE POINT! I wasn’t writing the verse based on anything other than what came to mind instantly. My apologies to everyone who felt or feels neglected, I’m sure you’ll get over it after years of counseling and home based therapy. Lol.

My Favorite Line: “Talking about Genocide, Jena 6, and Mumia, Strength of a black woman, thought of my sister Freda”

The track is off of his album “The Billboard Insurgence”, for sale. Which means I can’t exactly post up a track for download [yet].

I’ll definitely post more on this cat later.

Comments
One Response to “DMV x John Mayer??”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] you should hear, you should see, r.e.u.b. Added 26 Jun 08 from startoftheline.wordpress.com Flag as inappropriate or […]



Leave a Reply

